Kirby Software Forum
January 21, 2018, 06:26:20 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Moved to new web hosting company
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't run SoundRecorder  (Read 3477 times)
khoward1999
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 5


« on: March 10, 2012, 08:28:33 AM »

I need to be able to record a webinar weekly so I set up an alarm that will start SoundRecorder, but it will not run when I try to test the alarm. I can run Word, Calc and MSPaint. But when I try to run SoundRecorder I get a message that says "Exe, Batch File or PIF not found: SoundRecorder." I can run SoundRecorder from a DOS prompt and from the Run/Search box on the Start menu, but I cannot run it from within Kirby Alarm. My OS is Windows 7.

Thanks,
Kim
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2012, 02:15:31 AM »

Hi Kim

It could just be a case of putting quotes around the command line argument. This is particularly true if there are any spaces in the command line argument.

I use windows 7 64 bit.
Can you please upload a screen shot of the alarm settings and I will give it a try myself.
Can you also please tell me what version of KA you are using.

Kind regards
Ian Cook
www.kirbyfooty.com
Logged
khoward1999
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2012, 11:01:39 PM »

Ian,

Here is the screen shot. I have tried various ways of inputting this with the full path, no path, in a batch file and I get the same message every time.

Windows 7 64 bit, Kirby Alarm 4.45

Kim


* Kirby.jpg (89.89 KB, 642x442 - viewed 368 times.)
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2012, 01:44:36 AM »

I just tried and have had the same issue as you.

I think it is a security issue.
If I try running it from a batch file from the command prompt (ie NOT from Kirby Alarm) then it won't run either.

Attached is a screen shot of the error when run from a simple batch file 1.jpg.

I have also attached a screen shot of the batch file (2.jpg)

Sorry, but I can't help on this one...


* 1.jpg (19.75 KB, 671x175 - viewed 295 times.)

* 2.jpg (8.28 KB, 388x126 - viewed 289 times.)
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2012, 01:55:08 AM »

I just did a google search for this.
It seems we are not alone in trying to run the windows 7 sound recorder from another application.
Check out http://python.6.n6.nabble.com/Issuing-a-command-via-subprocess-other-methods-in-Windows-7-td4494012.html

They say..
Quote
The one critical piece of information you did not supply here is
that you are running 64-bit Windows 7.  That's the root of the problem.

SoundRecorder.exe is a 64-bit executable, and lives in
\Windows\System32.  When you are a 32-bit process on 64-bit Windows, and
you try to refer to files in \Windows\System32, the operating system
"helpfully" rewrites the path so you actually refer to
\Windows\SysWOW64, which is where the 32-bit executables and DLLs live.

Unlike almost every other utility, there is no 32-bit version of
SoundRecorder.exe, so subprocess fails to find the executable and dies.
Cmd.exe is a 64-bit process, so it looks in the real System32 and finds it.


It would seem then your only solution would be to find a 3rd party sound recorder.
Logged
khoward1999
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 5


« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2012, 04:47:23 AM »

Thanks Ian! I will come at it from a different direction.

Kim
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!