Kirby Software Forum
January 21, 2018, 03:03:23 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Moved to new web hosting company
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Alarms are not producing any pop-up windows  (Read 5809 times)
ballmj99
Guest
« on: March 23, 2005, 10:09:47 PM »

I am running V3.00 of Kirby Alarm (obtained direct from Ian Cook on December 13th - beta). At some point in the last few weeks it stopped producing pop up windows. All the alarms are still there when I display them, but for example a re-curring alarm which should fire every two weeks does not produce any pop-ups. The log shows the alarm 'firing' but nothing happens. Any idea what the problem might be? I'm running XP SP2, fully up to date. Other stuff I'm running: Firefox, Zonealarm Pro, Skype, Microsoft Antispyware Beta, MSN Messenger..
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2005, 01:31:28 AM »

Interesting...I have not heard of this problem before.
Are you sure the alarm is set as a pop up note (and not to play a sound, or run a lprogram)?
If it is a pop up note, is it a rich character text note, or a normal note?
Ian Cheesy
Logged
Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2005, 06:36:36 PM »

Hi Ian, well it's definitely set to produce a pop up note, and I don't have the rich text button checked so it would be normal text. It *was* working after I put V3.00 in but it stopped at some point.
I've just defined another new alarm thats due to go off in an hour, we'll see if this new one fires.
Logged
ballmj99
Guest
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2005, 10:11:58 AM »

Nope, that alarm I set to go off shortly after my last post triggered according to the Kirby Alarm Log, but no pop up window ever appeared.
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2005, 12:31:03 AM »

Could you please send me a screen dump of the log entry.
Thanks Cheesy
Logged
ballmj
Guest
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2005, 10:28:54 PM »

Ian, I have emailed you the data as requested....
 
Mike
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2005, 07:02:26 AM »

Hi Mike,
Thanks for the screen dumps.
They look ok to me so I am now really baffled.
 
What happens if you right click and 'Test' an alarm.
Does the message pop up?
 
Something else I just thought of is perhaps the window positions have gotten 'mucked up'
Try exiting kirby alarm, then delete the 'kirbywin.ini' file located in the program directory.
 
Ian
Logged
ballmj99
Guest
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2005, 12:16:18 PM »

I hadn't realised about the 'test' option Ian - just tried that on a couple of alarms, and i got the sound file play OK that was associated with each alarm - but no popup.
I looked at the kirbywin.ini file, and you've got it. The x and y positions for the "Display Alarm" section were crazy - both x and y positions over 16000. I deleted at and restarted and now the alarms all test fine, with popup windows.
So, I'll remember this for the future, but still begs the question of how the window positions got that way...
 
Many thanks for the tip Ian!
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2005, 12:33:26 AM »

Fantastic!!
Now, why the window posi's got mucked up I don't know, but will spend some time investigating it.
 
 Cheesy Cheesy
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!