Kirby Software Forum
January 23, 2018, 03:50:30 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Moved to new web hosting company
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Vista anomaly?  (Read 3707 times)
Alessia
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 93



« on: August 01, 2008, 05:21:14 PM »

Hi Ian.

Recently, my laptop died and I had to wait for a replacement from the manufacturer which arrived last week. Since then I have been busy reinstalling programs and have just got around to Kirby Alarm Pro. My previous machine had XP on it and the startup time for KAP was approximately 90 to 120 seconds. The new machine has Vista Ultimate and the startup time for KAP appears to be in the region of 4 to 5 minutes. I am not running it as a service but would like to know if you consider this to be normal please?
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2008, 02:38:47 AM »

Hi Alessia

Nice to hear from you again.

Would you believe I have only just got a new laptop with vista as well!
Until now I have only used XP pro and had no experience with vista at all.
I would not think 4 - 5 minutes is normal.

From my very brief experience programs installed in the Program Files folder seem to have problems

There are two ways around this..

(1) Disable vista's User Account Control (UAC) , or
(2) install KA into c:Kirby Alarm Pro (not c:program filesKirby Alarm Pro)
(This is what I did)


Ian Smiley
Logged
Alessia
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 93



« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2008, 08:50:02 AM »

While I appreciate that UAC is there to prevent problems caused by inexperienced users and to assist in secure operation of a PC, I have to say it's a bloody nuisance and I disabled it the first day I got my machine. It was literally driving me up the wall!

So let me get this straight, you are suggesting:
1. I back up all existing alarms
2. I uninstall KAP from C:Program Files
3. I reinstall KAP on C:
4. I restore my backed up files.

Is that correct or have I missed a step?

Incidentally, one item adding to the long start-up time is a 210 second delay I configured in KAP to establish network connections etc.
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2008, 01:51:35 PM »

Quote
While I appreciate that UAC is there to prevent problems caused by inexperienced users and to assist in secure operation of a PC, I have to say it's a bloody nuisance and I disabled it the first day I got my machine. It was literally driving me up the wall!
I haven't made my mind up on this one yet and still have it enabled.


Quote
So let me get this straight, you are suggesting:
1. I back up all existing alarms
2. I uninstall KAP from C:Program Files
3. I reinstall KAP on C:
4. I restore my backed up files.

Yep, that would work.
Personally I would..
1- Exit KA
2-Move the kirby alarm pro folder form c:program fileskirby alarm pro to c:kirby alarm pro
3-Change the short cut in your start up menu

Ian
Logged
Alessia
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 93



« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2008, 07:19:22 PM »

But aren't there any registry entries to be concerned about?
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 919



WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2008, 03:01:34 AM »

Quote
But aren't there any registry entries to be concerned about?
no, Kirby Alarm does not write to the registry.

Hmm, on thinking about that, perhaps the install program does, but not KA itself.
Logged
Alessia
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 93



« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2008, 10:57:36 AM »

In that case moving the program folder would create registry errors and that's something that needs to be avoided so I think I will go the uninstall-reinstall route.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!