Kirby Software Forum
April 26, 2018, 09:26:21 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Moved to new web hosting company
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: alarms don't sound  (Read 4644 times)
pete
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 7


« on: April 26, 2007, 05:57:04 PM »

I have just installed the pro alarm. I set several alarms to play at different times but none of them go off. When I click the test button they will work. I was using the free version and it was working so I'm sure that it is set up right. It does cycle through them but there is no sound. What am I not doing that I should be doing?
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 924



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2007, 01:04:23 AM »

Hi Pete,
A few things come to mind..

(1) What sound file format are you using?
(2) Is the path to the sound file correct? You say when you click the test button it works (I assume you mean the play button) then the path is probably ok.

(3) Is the "Play Sound" option ticked?


Thanks
Ian Smiley




Logged
pete
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2007, 03:57:11 AM »

Hi Kirby,

Thanks for answering so quickly.

Yes, the play button is what I should have said. And yes I did tick the sound box. One of the sounds is a .wav extension. The others are the .wma extension that comes with the program. The police siren to be exact.  While I was gone my wife said that the one set for 7:30 worked and it is set up just like the rest of them. The .wav extension is one that I used on the free program.
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 924



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2007, 04:11:22 AM »

Hi Pete,

Both wav and wma sounds formats should play ok (the program basically supports any sounds supported by your operating system eg mp3)

You said the one for 7:30am worked. Was it playing the wma or wav format?
What was the sound format for the one that did not play?

Is there any chance kirby alarm pro was not running when the alarm that did not play was due to be executed?
If so perhaps you have ticked the "Skip Missed Alarms" alarm setting.

Would you be able to try it again. Perhaps set up a test alarm and see if it plays ok.

The other thing to check is the alarm log to see if the alarm was executed.

Ian Smiley
Logged
pete
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2007, 01:30:16 PM »

Hi Ian,

The alarm that worked at 7:30 was the .wma format. Out of the 6 alarms that I have set up 5 were .wma and 1 was .wav. I have since changed the .wav to .wma.

We keep the alarm on at all times because my wife takes pills at these times and we are both forgetful (that old age thing, you know).
I have tried it with the "skip missed alarms" both checked and unchecked. Same result.

The log alarm shows that they all play.

I thought perhaps that the computer sound might be turned off at times but have been very careful with that as of late.

Here is how all the alarms are set up. Maybe you can see something that I've missed.

For today the date is 4/27/07.

The times are 8:45 am
                    12:00 pm
                    5:00 pm
                    5:50 pm 
                    7:30 pm
                    9:45 pm

Valid dates 4/24/07 to 12/31/99

Recurrence  1 weeks with all days of the week clicked.

Message pills

Action  sound alarm

Option  skip missed alarms


C:Program FilesKirby Alarm ProPolice.wma

Times to repeat  3

volume 100
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 924



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2007, 01:24:30 AM »

All the settings look pretty good.
To be honest I don't know why the alarm did not play.
How have things been over the past few days?
Logged
pete
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2007, 02:55:51 AM »

Hi,

It's strange. Different days different one's go off, but never all of them. Only 1 or 2. I'm beginning to think that some other program is interfering with the alarms. I'm going to try shutting down some of the non vital ones and see if that will make a difference. If that don't work I will uninstall and reinstall it. Maybe  something didn't install right. I'll let you know in a few days.

        James
Logged
Ian Cook
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 924



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2007, 11:11:05 AM »

I look forward to your results.
AS I said before I am a bit baffled by it as I have never had the problem.
Tell me, do you still have the free version of kirby alarm running at the same time?
Logged
pete
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2007, 05:09:58 PM »

No, I uninstalled it before I installed the paid version.
Logged
pete
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 7


« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2007, 02:58:08 AM »

YEA!

I shut down everything that didn't have to be running, uninstalled and reinstalled and all seems to be right. The music is playing. The sky is blue. The sun is shinning. All is right in my world.
Logged
stcroix103
Guest
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2007, 05:59:23 PM »

I had a similar problem with one of my seven alarms. Turned out the volume was set to zero.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!